5 Terrific Things for Tuesday (yes, we know it is Wednesday…) ACFW Conference

Final thoughts on ACFW Conference (That stands for the American Christian Fiction Writers) 

By Deb Keiser

 

Okay, it is not Tuesday. . . again. Unfortunately I’ve spent a few days clutching a box of tissues with my head propped up in bed. So, my schedule is shot at this point, but I wanted to make sure that I shared the highlights of my trip to St. Louis for the American Christian Fiction Writers Conference. 

1. The best part of the whole conference is the opportunity to have one-on-one meetings with fantastic authors at every stage of their writing life from aspiring to seasoned. 

2. Agents were excited to hear about our vision for River North fiction by Moody Publishers and shared with me information about authors who would be a good fit for our line. Publishing is a dance often orchestrated at the onset by a knowledgeable agent.  

3. Everyone doesn’t get it—the love of created characters making merry in one’s mind. But it is a wonder to me when I can be in a crowd of hundreds of people who do. It is God’s mercy that I get to share life with likeminded folks. 

4. Now my whiteboard is full of ideas that were planted at the conference. I have more proposals than I can keep up with and a fresh way of looking at some things. Best of all, there are a few ideas that really have some traction and the potential to end in a really good finished piece of fiction publishing.  

5. My anxiety was relieved when I got to the hotel and spied the Starbucks in the lobby. The reports that there were no coffee makers in the hotel rooms turned out to be true. But the hotel staff graciously supplied my needs when I called. My wonderful husband asked me a very silly question, “Why don’t you just throw on your sweats and go down to the Starbucks? Coffee in the room is usually not very good anyway.” Can you believe that? Go to the lobby with foggy eyes and bed-head. No way. Very glad I didn’t have to.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

