Psalm 46

Psalm 46

Last Sunday I sat in the pew next to my husband and youngest son. The two story stained glass panels dwarfed the teacher at the pulpit and transfixed me as I tried to listen. It was a very long week in the days prior and I could finally relax and take in the beauty that surrounded me in the presence of love.

 I wanted to stay forever.

Psalm 46 was sung by the choir situated in the loft at the back of the long barn shaped sanctuary. The words filled the air around me and hugged tightly to my body.

                The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our stronghold.  

The Lord of hosts is with us; God is with us; He is with me. How often I assure myself with these words. He is not only with me he is my stronghold. Though those words were not visible, they pressed against me like a shield.

Even now as I write this blog post I can close my eyes and feel His presence. Daily I forget though. Daily life gets more complicated and I run from before sun up until well after dark.

I cut out the section of the bulletin including Psalm 46 and taped it to my monitor stand as a reminder.

Not sophisticated but it works.

So does reading books that remind us of his truth. Art creates a space for God. That is one of the things that I love about fiction. The truth can stand in it.

I hope that you have had a chance to read the Texas Trails series. The November release is Long Trail Home by Vickie McDonough. In it you will see a loving and faithful God who never leaves or abandons the main character: God as a stronghold.

Truth can be found in the pages.

~Deb

  1. How very true your comments are. Especially…..

    The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our stronghold.

    The Lord of hosts is with us; God is with us; He is with me. How often I assure myself with these words. He is not only with me he is my stronghold.

  2. Truth can stand in fiction. So very true, Deb. I was blessed by reading your meditations, too. I could visualize the scene you painted when describing your experience in church. I have similar feelings when listening to our choir as they sing sacred music. Thank you for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

